International Municipal Collaboration

Connecting Municipalities for Balanced Development


Last update04:40:34 AM

Font Size


Menu Style


Gallery Images

Back You are here: Home Partners HBCU Partners Tuskegee University

Tuskegee University

Tuskegee University
Tuskegee University

Tuskegee University is a private, historically black university located in Tuskegee, Alabama, United States. It is a member school of the Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund. The campus has been designated as the Tuskegee Institute National Historic Site, a National Historic Landmark.

Tuskegee University offers 35 bachelor's degree programs, 12 master's degree programs, a 5-year accredited professional degree program in architecture, 2 doctoral degree programs, and the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine. Masters and doctoral degrees include engineering.

Tuskegee University is the only historically black college or university to offer the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (D.V.M.); its School of Veterinary Medicine was founded in 1944. The school is fully accredited by the Council on Education of the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA).

The university has several engineering programs:

  • The Aerospace Science Engineering department is an EAC/ABET accredited program started in 1983. It offers the Bachelor of Science degree in Aerospace Engineering. Tuskegee University is the first and only historically black institution of higher learning to offer an accredited BS degree program in this field.
  • The Mechanical Engineering Department started in 1954 and presently offers both Bachelor of Science and Master of Science degrees.
  • The Chemical Engineering Department began in 1977. The program is fully accredited by the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET).
  • The Department of Electrical Engineering offers programs of study leading to the B.S. and M.S. degrees in Electrical Engineering. The Department of Electrical Engineering is the largest of five departments in the College of Engineering. The program is accredited by EAC/ABET (Engineering Accreditation Commission/Accreditation Board of Engineering and Technology) and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

Tuskegee University began offering certificates in architecture under the Division of Mechanical Industries in 1893. The 4-year curriculum in architecture leading to the Bachelor of Science degree was initiated in 1957 and the professional 6-year program in 1965. The Robert R. Taylor School of Architecture offers two professional programs: Architecture, and Construction Science and Management. The 5-year Bachelor of Architecture program is fully accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB). Graduates of the program are qualified to become registered architects.